2017 ESCI Recap

8th Annual Emmitt Smith Celebrity Golf Invitational Celebrate Gala and Golf Tournament

The 8th Annual Emmitt Smith Celebrity Invitational, presented by Healthcare Highways, was held the weekend of May 12 and 13 to benefit Pat & Emmitt Smith Charities. Activities began with a Friday Night Gala presented by Albertsons/Tom Thumb, led by Honorary Chair Faye C. Briggs and Event Chairs Carmaleta and Otis Felton, and was held at the Omni Dallas Hotel.  The theme for this year was “Celebrate” and a host of celebrities from the sports and entertainment world did just that as they began the evening walking the red carpet, sponsored by Cigna. Notable guests included Marianne and Roger Staubach, Dak Prescott, Ezekiel Elliott, Daryl Johnston, Nancy Lieberman, Thomas “Hollywood” Henderson, Seema Sadekar, Nate Newton, Torii Hunter and Melissa Rycroft Strickland. WFAA’s Dale Hansen served as the evening’s emcee with Bishop T.D. Jakes opening the dinner program in prayer.

Legendary Dallas Cowboys quarterback and real estate icon, Roger Staubach, presented his namesake award, courtesy of Toyota, to Arizona Cardinals wide receiver and 2017 Walter Payton NFL Co-Man of the Year Award winner, Larry Fitzgerald, Jr. for his exceptional work with The Larry Fitzgerald First Down Fund, which supports education and recreation for youth, children, and families experiencing health challenges. The Roger Staubach award recognizes sports and/or entertainment professionals who positively impact the lives of children by living courageously and creating opportunities for today’s youth. This is the only award to be named in Staubach’s honor, other than the one established at his alma mater, the U.S. Naval Academy.

Pat and Emmitt Smith were thrilled to have teens from their flagship, hands-on, one-to-one mentoring  program, TEAM 22 and previous scholarship recipients, participate throughout the evening’s ceremony.  After a spirited live auction, Emerald City Band took to the stage to cap off an inspiring and entertaining evening. CLICK HERE to view photos from this event on Facebook.

The gala ushered in the Celebrity Invitational golf tournament on Saturday, May 13 hosted at TPC Craig Ranch and sponsored by American Airlines. Players were paired with celebrities to create foursomes to vie for bragging rights and the $5,000 purse, sponsored by Waste Management. This year’s winning team was comprised of Doug Campbell, Dennis Bassler, and Braden Taylor of Albertsons/Tom Thumb and former Green Bay Packers Wide Receiver Sterling Sharpe, who took home a crystal trophy and bragging rights with a net score of -40. Second Place went to Michael Wilson, Russell Williams and Bud Herbert of Healthcare Highways and teammates Emmitt Smith and his son EJ Smith with a net score of -36. Third Place saw the team of Seema Sadekar, Terrance Barber, David Mosely and Emory Smith with a net score of -34. Other accolades acknowledged were Richard Wilbur for the Straightest Drive on Hole 10, Sterling Sharpe for Longest Drive on Hole 13, and Kameron Hedrick for Closest to the Pin on Hole 4. CLICK HERE to view photos from this event on Facebook.